Countdown to Up From The Grave: Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost (Night Huntress #1)

by admin


The Night Huntress World consists of three book series’: Night Huntress, Night Huntress World and Night Prince.

The Night Huntress series is the main series where Cat, half-human/half-vampire, complete bad ass, and Bones, a super sexy alpha male vampire/bounty hunter, are the main characters. Night Huntress World is the first spin-off series where the secondary characters in the main series get to shine. Night Prince is the second spin-off of the Night Huntress series and exclusively features Vlad Tepesh, aka Vlad the Impaler, aka Dracula, as he governs his people and tries, yet fails, to avoid falling in love with Leila, a human with extraordinary powers. All the books are must reads!

I absolutely love Jeaniene Frost! Her Night Huntress series captured my interest from the first chapter and has been making me laugh, and cry, ever since.

Last fall Jeaniene announced that Up From the Grave would be the last book in the Night Huntress series. You can read more about her decision here. I was devastated. Needless to say I wasn’t the only one disappointed with the decision and some folks made some very unflattering responses. In light of the negative comments, I dedicated my Twitter avatar to showcasing her books/book characters in support of Jeaniene’s decision and all her past, present and future works.

As the end of the series draws near, I wanted to share with you my thoughts on each book and my appreciation for the author who has brought life to Cat and Bones.

I found Halfway to the Grave, Book 1 of the Night Huntress series, on my search for more paranormal reads. I had just finished J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series and was waiting desperately for J.R.’s next installment. I immediately fell in love with Cat and Bones and devoured every book that came after.

What I love most about these books is the hilarious dialog. Cat and Bones are as wickedly funny as they are vicious fighters. You can count on Jeaniene Frost for exciting story lines, witty dialog, sensual vampires and a love so powerful it triumphs over all tests, trials and tribulations.

***Please Note: Halfway to the Grave is currently on sale in ebook form for 99 cents!! Purchase links are below the synopsis***

Welcome to the Night Huntress Series


Halfway to the Grave
(Night Huntress #1)

Half-vampire Catherine Crawfield is going after the undead with a vengeance, hoping that one of these deadbeats is her father—the one responsible for ruining her mother’s life. Then she’s captured by Bones, a vampire bounty hunter, and is forced into an unholy partnership.

In exchange for finding her father, Cat agrees to train with the sexy night stalker until her battle reflexes are as sharp as his fangs. She’s amazed she doesn’t end up as his dinner—are there actually good vampires? Pretty soon Bones will have her convinced that being half-dead doesn’t have to be all bad. But before she can enjoy her newfound status as kick-ass demon hunter, Cat and Bones are pursued by a group of killers. Now Cat will have to choose a side . . . and Bones is turning out to be as tempting as any man with a heartbeat.

GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleKobo

This book is currently on sale for 99 Cents! Get your copy today!

My Thoughts

On Cat’s sixteenth birthday, her mother reveals to her a huge secret; Cat is half-vampire. Cat knew she was different from other kids but a vampire? Cat also learns the circumstances of her conception and birth and decides to hunt down this vampire that fathered her and kill him for what he did to them.

In Cat’s search for her father, she crosses paths with a gorgeous platinum blond vampire with an English accent. The trap is set but it seems this vampire is smarter than Cat expected and instead of killing the vampire she ends up chained in a cave, and at his mercy. Oh what shenanigans these two get into!

I loved this book. Cat is a strong, yet battered woman. Her own mother hates her because Cat is a constant reminder of her mom’s rape. Cat is out there constantly killing vampires trying to gain her mother’s love and acceptance even though she is “the devil’s spawn” and “evil” in her mother’s eyes.

Bones compliments Cat so well. He helps her learn more about her vampire half and ends up falling head over heels for the stubborn redhead. There is a cliffhanger at the end so you may want to have the second book handy.


About the Author

Jeaniene Frost is the New York Times, USA Today, and international bestselling author of the Night Huntress series, the Night Prince series, and the upcoming Broken Destiny series. To date, foreign rights for her novels have sold to twenty different countries.

Jeaniene lives in North Carolina with her husband Matthew, who long ago accepted that she rarely cooks and always sleeps in on the weekends. Aside from writing, Jeaniene enjoys reading, poetry, watching movies with her husband, exploring old cemeteries, spelunking and traveling – by car. Airplanes, children, and cook books frighten her.

Jeaniene is represented by Nancy Yost at Nancy Yost Literary Agency.

Twitter YouTube FrostFans Chat Forum

I’ll be featuring the rest of the books in the Night Huntress World up until the release of Up From The Grave on January 28. I invite you to stop by and share your favorite Night Huntress/World/Night Prince moments or just to say hello.